Portland Tomorrow represents individuals who care deeply about our City. 

Throughout the Charter Commission process, and the subsequent approval by Portland’s voters of the Commission’s recommendations, we have worked to improve how our City functions and grows, including advancing the proposal for a popularly elected mayor. Our primary mission has been to help identify and support candidates who best meet the characteristics for being an excellent Mayor as outlined in the new City Charter. 

Portland Tomorrow’s Steering Committee includes:

Michael Bourque is president of the Portland Community Chamber of Commerce and is Senior Vice President for External Affairs at MEMIC.  He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Children's Museum and Theatre of Maine and the Southern Maine Community College Foundation.     


James Cohen was an At-Large member and Vice-Chair of the Portland Charter Commission.  An attorney with Verrill Dana, he has been Mayor of Portland and a Portland City Councilor.  Jim is Vice-Chair of the Portland Regional Chamber and is a Trustee of the Portland Regional Chamber and the Maine State Chamber of Commerce.  


Kimberly Cook is an attorney and principal of Government Strategies, a government relations firm based in Portland. She has served on the Portland Land Bank Commission and on the Portland Zoning Board of Appeals. She also served as the Treasurer of the "Elect Our Mayor, Yes on 1" campaign.  


Glenn Cummings is President and Executive Director of Good Will-Hinckley.  He is a former Majority Leader and Speaker of the House of the Maine House of Representatives. Glenn served in President Obama's administration as Deputy Assistant Secretary for the U.S. Department of Education, and was Dean of Institutional Advancement at Southern Maine Community College.


Peter Eglinton is the new Chief Operating Officer for Portland Public Schools, and the former Chair of the Portland School Board.  He has been Principal Associate at Abt Associates Inc., and a Policy Analyst in the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs in the White House Office of Management and Budget.


Will Everitt is Development Director at Friends of Casco Bay.  He is the former Executive Director of the Maine League of Young Voters, and has directed the Portland office of the Toxics Action Center.


Pamela Plumb, appointed by the City Council, served as Chair of the Portland Charter Commission.  Co-owner of Great Meetings! Inc., she has served as a Portland City Councilor and Mayor of Portland.  Pam is a past president of the National League of Cities and has chaired the Maine Governor's Municipal Advisory Council.


Nathan Smith was an At-Large member of the Portland Charter Commission.  An attorney with Bernstein Shur, he has been Mayor of Portland, a Portland City Councilor, President of United Way, and President and Co-Founder of Portland Trails.  He has served as a Commissioner of the Maine State Housing Authority and is President of the Board of Trustees of the Portland Public Library.


Kate Snyder is an At-Large member serving as Chair of the Portland School Board.  Kate holds a Masters of Public Polcy and Management from the University of Southern Maine.  


John Spritz was a member of the Portland Charter Commission, representing District 4. He co-founded and served as the president of the Back Cove Neighborhood Association, of which he is now treasurer.